ANNUAL MEETING WRAP-UP EDITION 2023 TEXAS EXTENSION ASSOCIATION OF FAMILY AND CONSUMER SCIENCES

n this edition ...

State Officers District Directors Award Winners Polo Orders Association News Dates to Remember

Thank You bistrict 10







Cooperative Extension Program

Neet the State Officers....



Norma Munoz County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS President



Laura Graves County Extension Agent-Family& Community Health TEAFCS President - Elect



Joanne Ureste-Armijo County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Past President



Kailey Roberts County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS 1st Vice President



Kelli Maberry County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS 2nd Vice President



Dr. Sarah Latham County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Secretary

Neet the State Officers....



Tonya Poncik County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Treasurer



Wendy Hazzard County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Texas Extra Editor



Micah Holcombe County Extension Agent Family & Community Health 4-H Foundation Rep



Dr. Shawnte Clawson County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Historian



Penny Berend County Extension Agent-Family & Community Health TEAFCS Web Master

District Jeadership

2023-24 TEAFCS District

Directors/Associate Directors

District 1 Director: Wendy Hazzard Associate Director: Chelsey Rash District 7 Director: Staci Winders Associate Director: Carrie Ross

District 2 Director: Shawnte Clawson Associate Director: Cory Edwards

District 3 Director: Kelli Brown Associate Director: Melanie Potter

District 4 Director: Alaina Woolsey Associate Director: Mary Shockley

District 5 Director: Feleshia Thompson Associate Director: Julie York

District 6 Director: Haley Cowley Associate Director: District 8 Director: Micah Holcombe Associate Director: Amy O'Brien-Glenn

District 9 Director: Fallon White Associate Director: Amanda Krippel

District 10 Director: Angie Gutierrez Associate Director: Nicole Demmer

District 11 Director: Megan Glidden Associate Director: Karen Lyssy

District 12 Director: Zelina Zavala Associate Director: Dr. Andrea Valdez

ward Minners ...

NEAFCS Awards Texas Affiliate Winners

Program Excellence Through Research 1st place - Shawnte Clawson

Human Development and Relationships 1st place - Andrea Brooks and Team

Extension Disaster Education 1st place - Amy O'Brien Glenn

Early Childhood Care Education 1st place - Joanne Ureste -Armijio and Lillian Mezquida

> **Communication** - Newsletter 1st place - Andrea Brooks

Communication - Written Media 1st place - Amy O'Brien Glenn

Social Media Education 1st place - Courtney Mercer

ners

Community Partnership 1st place - Colleen Folleen and Team 2nd place - Megan Glidden 3rd place - Amy O'Brien Glenn

Master FCS Volunteer Program

1st place - Brittany Martin and Team 2nd place - Joanne Ureste-Armijio and Lilliam Mezquida

Excellence in Teamwork 1st place - Feleshia Thompson and Team 2nd place - Laura Graves and Team

> Florence Hall 1st place - Amy O'Brien Glenn

Innovation in Programming

1st place - Micah Holcombe 2nd place - Laura Graves and Team

School Wellness

1st place - Micah Holcombe 2nd place - Courtney Parrott and Wendy Hamilton

inners

Family Helath and Wellness 1st place - Joanne Ureste-Armijo 2nd place - Laura Graves and Team

SNAP-ED EFNEP

1st place - Courtney Parrott and Wendy Hamilton

Distinguished Service

Lynette Babcock Jennifer Trufan

TEAFCS Only Award Winner

Healthy Texas - BLT

1st place - Cynthia Covarrubbias, Aileen Sifuentes and Angelica Sifuentes 2nd place - Micah Holcombe 3rd place - Jasmine Carey

4-H & Youth Development

1st place - Jessica Faubion, Shea Nebgen, Angela Fielder, Jennifer Smith, Kara Spangler, Hilary Putrite 2nd place - Haley LaCaze 3rd place - Katarina Rodriguez, Joanne Ureste-Armijo 4th place - Dr. Andrea Valdez, Katarina Rodriguez

ward inners

Curriculum Enrichment 1st Place - Haley LaCaze

Multi County Programming

1st Place - Joanne Ureste-Armijo, Lilliam Mezquida 2nd place -Jessica Faubion, Shea Nebgen, Angela Fielder, Elyse Hernandez

Interdiciplinary Program

1st place - Shea Nebgen, Elizabeth McMahon 2nd place - Courtney Parrot and Wendy Hamilton > 3rd place - Aileen Sifuentes, Angelica Sifuentes, Cynthia Covarrbuias

> Healthy Texas Non- BLT 1st place - Courtney Parrott 2nd place - Shawnte Clawson

olo 4



We are Placing another Polo order! If you missed out last time you still have time to place your order. Due August 15!

Order Form:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfReHra_PB9jodFFTnjwoelCmRGqM -NCKVE98JRcTJ-Gzwpxg/viewform?usp=send_form

> The price of the Polos is \$30. Checks be made to: TEAFCS Deadline to Order: August 15

Please mail all payments to: TEAFCS Tonya Poncik Extension Agent, Family and Community Health Lee County | Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 310 South Grimes Giddings, Texas 78942

Association News



During the annual meeting by-laws were update. To access the new bylaws use the link below. https://teafcs.tamu.edu/statehandbook/ (At the time of publishing the new bylaws were not on the website but will be coming in the next few weeks)

Couldn't make it to the annual meeting? You can access the minutes on the website at the link below https://teafcs.tamu.edu/past-meetingpast-presidents/ (Please be kind....at the time of publishing the minutes have not been posted to the website. They will be posted in the coming weeks)



Dates to Kemeber....



Save the Date We can't wait for the 2024 TEAFCS Conference in Abilene, TX July 23 - 25, 2024

Dates to Remember



Texas Extra Dates

Submission Due Date

December 15, 2023 January 2024 March 15, 2024 April 2024 June 15, 2024 July 2024

Edition Release Date