Texas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences 79th Annual Business Meeting Fredericksburg, Texas July 26, 2023

The Texas Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Annual Board Meeting was called to order by President Joanne Ureste at 10:07 a.m. on July 26, 2023, at the Gillespie County Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Center.

The Inspiration for the day was given by President-Elect Norma Munoz, "Agents in Action."

Past-President Amy Ressler presented the Business Meeting rules.

President Joanne Ureste appointed Angie Gutierrez and Staci Winders to review the minutes of the Annual Business Meeting and Zelina Zavala and Sally Garrett to serve as tellers and timekeepers.

The credentials report was given by Secretary Sarah Latham with 138 County Extension Agents, 17 BLT Agents, 4 County Extension Directors, 7 District Extension Administrators, 6 Regional Program Leaders, 1 Regional Program Specialist, 4 Members of the Extension Leadership Team, and 3 guests in attendance for a total attendance of 180.

Sarah presented the minutes from the 2022 Annual Business Meeting in Decatur, Texas. Erica Bochat made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Louraiseal McDonald seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Treasurer Tonya Poncik discussed the financial report. Tonya reported the balance of the checking accounts as of July 26, 2023, as \$70,698.42. Morgan Stanley investment account balance is currently \$110,077.54. She reported there are 189 NEAFCS members and 20 state-only members.

Kate Blankenship presented the program of the 2023 annual meeting, with the motion coming from the committee, Michelle Wright seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Executive Board & Committee Reports:

President Joanne reported on JCEP and encouraged attendance at NEAFCS Annual Conference.

President-Elect Norma Munoz reported on the nominating committee, officer ballot, and PILD Conference.

1st Vice-President Kailey Roberts reported 25 TEAFCS members submitted NEAFCS award applications with 20 of those advanced to Southern Region and National judging. Six placed in the Southern Region and 2 placed at the National level.

2nd Vice President Kate Blankenship – No report

Secretary Sarah Latham reported the meeting minutes will be available on the TEAFCS website within the next 45 days.

Treasurer Tonya Poncik reported TEAFCS as the largest membership in the nation, and we have moved to 8 delegates.

Past-President Amy Ressler reported on the member resource committee purpose and activities. Thirty-five members ordered TEAFCS shirts, and a second order is open with the link found on the TEAFCS website. The 3rd Annual Clothing Swap has been very successful with roughly 70 Extension branded shirts swapped.

Texas Extra Editor Wendy Hazzard thanked the district editors successfully adopting the new system. She reported submission deadlines for the rest of the year and those need to go to your district editors.

4-H Foundation Representative Micah Holcombe reported the annual Clover Club Gala was held and very successful. A grant is available to each association to help develop programs. The application will be available in the fall.

Website Coordinator Micah Holcombe reported Chris Coon's departure from Extension. Additionally, she reported on the TEAFCS website and Facebook page. She added a conference page.

Historian Kelli Brown thanked the association for photo submissions and noted they are posted on the TEAFCS website.

By-laws committee chair Sarah Latham presented proposed changes to Article III: Membership to expand the membership levels and match those of NEAFCS.

Unfinished Business

No unfinished business to report.

New Business

Financial committee chair Tonya Poncik presented the proposed 2023-24 TEAFCS annual budget. Angie Sifuentes made a motion to approve the 2022-2023 proposed budget as presented. Fallon White seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Andrea Brooks made a motion to approve the changes to the proposed changes to the TEAFCS Bylaws as presented. Lorie Coop seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Joanne Ureste presented the slate of officers. Cindy Lou made a motion to accept the 2023-24 slate of officers as presented. Cindy Van Dever seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Kate Blankenship discussed upcoming events, Workshops on the Move, and RPL presentations.

President Joanne Ureste thanked the association for a wonderful tenure as President-Elect and President. She also thanked the Board and Executive Officers for their guidance and support.

Past-President Amy Ressler thanked Joanne for stepping in as President Elect. She recognized our four TEAFCS retirees, Tanya Davis (D3), Dawn Dockter (D3), Johanna Hicks (D4), and Tina Grubbs-Broesche (D9). Retirees received a personalized board thanking them for their dedication and recognizing their years of service. Notification of Karan Heffelfinger's (D6) retirement was submitted, and a board will be ordered for her parting gift.

Installation of Officers

Past-President Amy Ressler, along with the other present Past-Presidents, conducted the installation of the new officers using an Agents in Action theme. Each new officer received a clapper board that represents their position on the TEAFCS board.

2023-24 TEAFCS Executive Board

President Norma Munoz
President-Elect Laura Graves

Past-President

Joanne Ureste-Armijo

1st Vice President

2nd Vice President

Secretary

Kelli Maberry

Sarah Latham

Treasurer

Tonya Poncik

4-H Foundation Representative

Texas Extra Editor

Micah Holcombe

Wendy Hazzard

Historian Shawnte Clawson Web Master Penny Berend

Adjourn

Karen Lyssy moved to adjourn the meeting. Julie York seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 10:59 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Latham, TEAFCS Secretary