Texas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences 77th Annual Business Meeting – Tyler, Texas July 29, 2021

The Texas Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Annual Board Meeting was called to order by Liz Espie at 8:00 a.m. on July 29, 2021, at the Holiday Inn Tyler.

The Inspiration for the day was given by President-Elect Amy Ressler. She shared an excerpt from The Velveteen Rabbit.

2020 Past President Felice Acker presented the Business Meeting rules.

Liz Espie appointed Alinda Cox and Micah Holcombe to review the minutes of the Annual Business Meeting and Michelle Wright and Kelli Lehman to serve as tellers and timekeepers.

The credentials report was given by Secretary Melode Watson with 103 County Extension Agents, 2 Assistant Extension Agents, 16 BLT Agents, 2 EFNEP, 4 District Extension Administrators, 6 Regional Program Leaders, 4 Regional Project Specialists and 3 Administration for a total of 140 registered attendees. Total attendance was 176, including vendors, speakers, and guests.

Melode presented the minutes from the 2020 Annual Business Meeting in Amarillo, Texas. Dianne Gertson made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Kathy Farrow seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Treasurer Norma Munoz reported the balance of the regular checking account on July 29, 2021, to be \$58,117.08 The balance in the Morgan Stanley account is \$106,709.09. Norma also reported that there are 182 NEAFCS members and 7 TEAFCS-only members. She also presented income and expenses for the current year.

Mandy Patrick presented the program of the 2021 conference for adoption. With the motion coming from committee, no second needed. Motion passed.

Executive Board & Committee Reports:

President Liz Espie reported that she attended the virtual JCEP conference. She stated that although the last two years had been difficult, she hopes everyone took the opportunity to get some professional development with so many being offered virtually. She recognized Texas members who presented at JCEP. She noted that Texas was very well-represented at JCEP. She reported that one of the most impactful things that she got from JCEP came from the keynote speaker, Erik Qualman. He told participants to "Be Flawsome" which means failing awesomely. She encouraged everyone to find the beauty in their failures and move forward. She also thanked the membership for letting her serve as the President.

President -Elect Amy Ressler reported that she attended the virtual PILD conference. She noted that this conference is all about telling our story. She reported that there were some great sessions – some from legislative lobbyists on how to talk to legislators and also some leadership development sessions. She encouraged membership to attend PILD if they ever get the opportunity,

1st Vice-President Ronda White reported that members submitted 36 NEAFCS applications. All national applications advanced to Southern Region judging, and there were 9 winners at the Southern Region level. There were 3 national award winners. Fifteen members applied for state only awards.

2nd Vice President Mandy Patrick, reported on the evaluation process for the conference. Attendees can complete the evaluation through the QR code provided during the break on Friday.

Secretary Melode Watson reported that today's minutes will be available online at the TEAFCS website within the next 45 days.

Treasurer Norma Munoz deferred her report to New Business.

2020 Past President Felice Acker read the report provided by Past President Brittany Martin. She encouraged members to register for the NEAFCS conference. She highlighted the NEAFCS President's Charity. For 2021, it is the NEAFCS Endowment. Donations to the endowment are not spent. Instead, the endowment is an investment tool, and the investment income is utilized for targeted projects. NEAFCS President Dianne Gertson encourages each member to donate \$21 for 2021 to the NEAFCS Endowment. Donations of any amount will be accepted. She also encouraged members to check out the NEAFCS webinars that are available for members.

Texas Extra Editor Sarah Latham reported submission deadlines for the rest of the year. Articles for Texas Extra are due on September 15 for an October 1 release date and December 15 for a January 1 release date.

4-H Foundation Representative Mandy Patrick did not give a detailed report about the Texas 4-H Foundation since we heard from Texas 4-H Foundation Executive Director David White on the first day of conference. She encouraged members to take advantage of the alliance partnerships and the CEA program Mr. White discussed.

Website Coordinator Jocelin Villarreal reported that she has recently updated the website. She also created a public TEAFCS Facebook group for members to use as an additional resource.

Historian Tonya Poncik reported that District 5 hosted the TEAFCS State Meeting for the first time in 1973 in Nacogdoches with Jo Russell as President. They also hosted in 1977 in Tyler with Janie Crump as President; 1991 in Jefferson with Temple Brunson Perkins as President; and 2009 in Tyler with Kathy Farrow as President.

By-laws committee chair Melode Watson reported that several by-law amendments were made to the NEAFCS by-laws during the 2020 NEAFCS Annual Session, The TEAFCS By-Laws Committee met and reviewed those changes and brought forth a recommendation related to Article III Membership, Section III of the TEAFCS by-laws to make our by-laws consistent with the NEAFCS by-laws. The recommended change would allow life members to serve as officers. It was presented and discussed at Spring Board meeting, and the recommended change was published in the summer edition of the Texas Extra. Liz announced that since the motion came from a committee, it does not need a second. She requested that Melode read Article III Section III. Melode read the proposed by-law. Liz asked for discussion. With no discussion, Liz called for a vote. Motion passed by more than 2/3 vote.

Unfinished Business

Liz asked for any old business to be brought before the membership. There was none.

New Business

Norma presented the 2021-2022 budget. She reviewed the proposed budget and discussed the contingency budget. To date, \$1186 has been spent out of the contingency budget. She stated it has been discussed that every 5 years the balance needs to be reviewed to determine if money should be moved from the investment account into the contingency account. Cindy Vandevender made a motion to approve the2021-2022 proposed budget as presented. Cathy Pearson seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Liz announced the nominations for positions up for election were President-Elect – Jocelin Villarreal, 2nd Vice-President-Lynette Babcock, 4-H Foundation Representative – Micah Holcombe, Webmaster – Chris Coon, and Historian – Kelli Brown. She noted that 2nd Vice President, 4-H Foundation Representative, Webmaster, and Historian are nominated and appointed positions. Liz called for further nominations for President-Elect. Hearing none, the above slate of officers was elected by general consent.

Mandy Patrick made announcements regarding conference tours.

Liz and Felice recognized retirees. This year's retirees include Marsha Blair and Kay Davis, District 2; Annie Tinsley, District 4; Karen Jungman, District 8, and Sandy Kunkle, District 10. Retirees will be receiving gift cards.

Installation of Officers

2020 Past-President Felice Acker along with the other present Past-Presidents conducted the Installation of the new officers using a rose theme. Each new officer received a rose in a color significant to their office.

Amy thanked Liz for her service as the 2020-2021 TEAFCS President. She shared a poem, "Servant Leadership" and presented Liz with a serving tray.

Andrea Brooks moved to adjourn the meeting. Louraiseal McDonald seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 8:50 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Melode Watson

Melode Watson TEAFCS Secretary