Texas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences 76th Annual Business Meeting – Amarillo, Texas July 30, 2020

The Texas Association of Family and Consumer Sciences Annual Board Meeting was called to order by Brittany Martin at 8:40 a.m. on July 30, 2020 at the Embassy Suites Hotel.

The Inspiration for the day was given by President-Elect Liz Espie. She shared a quote from US Congressman John Lewis: "Nothing can stop the power of a committed and determined people to make a difference in our society. Why? Because human beings are the most dynamic link to the divine on this planet."

Past President Felice Acker presented the Business Meeting rules.

Brittany Martin appointed Tanya Davis and Dianne Gertson to review the minutes of the Annual Business Meeting and Kim Rahebi and Lindsey Breunig-Rodriguez to serve as tellers and timekeepers.

The credentials report was given by Secretary, Gretchen Sanders with 93 County Extension Agents, 1 Assistant Extension Agent, 12 BLT Agents, 1 BLT Assistant, 0 EFNEP, 1 County Extension Directors, 4 District Extension Administrators, 6 Extension Specialists, 2 Directors, 10 Guests/Retirees, and 4 Administration.

Gretchen presented the minutes from the 2019 Annual Business Meeting in McKinney, Texas. Kathy Farrow made a motion to approve the minutes as presented. Michelle Wright seconded. Motion passed.

Treasurer Amy Ressler reported the balance of the account on July 26, 2019 to be \$992.08. The regular checking account balance is \$51,732.10. The balance in the Morgan Stanley account is \$89,966.69. Amy also reported that there are 186 NEAFCS members and 10 TEAFCS-only members.

Joan Gray-Soria presented the program of the 2020 conference for adoption. With the motion coming from committee, no second needed. Motion passed.

Executive Board & Committee Reports:

Brittany Martin reported that she had a very unusual year. She attended JCEP in February. Next year's event will be in Kansas City, Missouri. Brittany is excited about the relationship between TEAFCS and our new administration. She highlighted our members serving in national roles: Lorrie Coop-Southern Region Director and Dianne Gertson-President-Elect.

Liz Espie reported that she attended the virtual PILD conference. She encouraged the membership to work on interpretation reports and stressed their importance. She also

encouraged everyone to attend the 2020 Virtual NEAFCS conference.

1st Vice-President, Lynette Babcock reported that members submitted 41 NEAFCS applications. 38 advanced to the Southern Region and 18 placed at the Southern Region level. There were 10 national and 3 service award winners. 11 members applied for state only awards. Lynette gave instructions to awards winners for the presentation and photos.

2nd Vice President, Joan Gray-Soria, reported on the success of this year's event. She thanks District 1 members for their hard work.

Secretary, Gretchen Sanders reported that today's minutes will be available online at the TEAFCS website within the next 45 days.

Treasurer, Amy Ressler distributed reports. She thanked the Finance Committee for their help. Members include Brittany Martin, Liz Espie, Tanya Poncik, Norma Munoz and Leticia Hardy. She discussed the low balance over the last few years. Through organization the account has grown back to a comfortable balance. The profit from the 2019 NEAFCS conference was moved into the checking account. She explained how TEAFCS/NEAFCS membership dues are broken down. The Finance Committee has set up a contingency fund to be voted on during new business.

Past President, Felice Acker encouraged members to attend the virtual NEAFCS conference emphasizing the low cost of \$150. She also highlighted the NEAFCS webinars that are available for members. The next webinars will be "The Stigma Reduction for the Opioid Epidemic" on August 5 and "Taking Care of You: Body, Mind and Spirit" on August 12. Felice also encouraged the membership to participate at all district meetings and the 2020 TEAFCS State Meeting in Tyler.

Texas Extra-No report.

4-H Foundation Representative, Mandy Patrick reported that the Texas 4-H Foundation has many alliances and we should promote them all in our counties. She mentioned the alliances with Amazon Smile and JOANN Fabrics. The Texas 4-H Foundation receives money from each of these businesses. She praised the new Director, David White. Mandy also discussed scholarships and reminded the membership to list the 4-H Foundation alliances in our local 4-H newsletters.

Website Coordinator, Jocelin Villarreal reported that she worked to make the website more visually appealing. She has included a link to the NEAFCS conference registration. Jocelin reported that she included photos from past conferences and would like to include more. Members should send her a link to photos. Brittany added that the website looks great and everyone should take a look.

Historian, Tanya Poncik reported that District 1 hosted the TEAFCS State Meeting in Amarillo in 1969 with Vera Adams as President; 1983 with Toy Smith as President; 1996Kathryn Roberts; 2008 with Abigail Pritchard as President and in 2020 with Brittany Martin as President. Tanya requested old and recent FCH photos to add to our historical collection.

Unfinished Business Brittany asked for any old business to be brought before the membership. There was none.

New Business

Brittany led a discussion of the new TEAFCS logo. She reported that the staff in Galveston County created the logo. She reported that it will be posted to the website soon.

Amy presented the 2020-2021budget. Karen DeZarn made a motion to approve the budget as presented. Joan Gray-Soria seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Brittany announced the nominations for positions up for election were President-Liz Espie, 1st VP Ronda White, 2nd Vice-President-Mandy Patrick, Secretary Melody Watson, Treasurer-Norma Munoz, and Texas Extra Editor-Sarah Latham. Brittany called for further nominations. Hearing none, the above slate of officers was elected by general consent.

Joan Gray-Soria announced that Kay Ledbetter, Communications Specialist will be on hand for photos and news releases. District 1 will e-mail a survey to all attendees. This survey will help the conference chairs for next year.

Brittany reported on her year as TEAFCS President. She thanked all of the officers for their help during the year. She asked all of the district directors and alternate directors to stand and recognized their hard work. She recognized to all of the board members with personalized notes thanking everyone.

Felice recognized retirees by sharing the definition of retiree: "To leave one's job and cease to work, typically upon reaching the normal age for leaving employment. This year retirees include: Deana Sageser, District 2; Darlene Hopkins and Sherri Halsell, District 3; Kelly Jobe, District 5; Janet Nelson, District 7; Lindy Pitre, District 9 and Sandra Kunkel, District 10.

Installation of Officers

Past-President Felice Acker along with the other present Past-Presidents conducted the Installation of the new officers using a rainbow theme. Each new officer received a face mask in a significant color.

Jocelin Villarreal moved to adjourn the meeting. Chris Coon seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 9:26 a.m.

Brittany provided the membership with the following dates to remember:

2020 NEAFCS Conference	September 14-16, 2020	Virtual	
------------------------	-----------------------	---------	--

2021 JCEP Leadership	February 10-11, 2021	Kansas City, MO
2021 PILD Conference	April 11-14, 2021	Arlington, VA
2021 TEAFCS Conference	July 28-30, 2021	Tyler, TX
2021 NEAFCS Conference	November 2-5, 2021	Grand Rapids, MI

Respectfully submitted,

Gretchen Sanders TEAFCS Secretary